Healing Thoughts

pink yellow rose

“It was only in the full radiance of her beauty that she wished to appear.”

  from The Little Prince, by Antoine de Saint Exupery

When I was about 12, I had a serious accident with my bicycle. I was quite adventurous when I was younger, somewhat of a tomboy. I took a long bike ride one day, and went down a very long hill. I enjoyed gathering speed as I went further and further down. But at some point, I knew I was going too fast. And I saw a tree ahead of me that signaled I would have to turn to avoid it. I got frozen by fear; instead of avoiding it, I crashed right into it with my knee!

      Somehow I made it home. It was pretty far. But when your body is in shock you can do a lot of things. My mother instantly became hysterical and made me understand just how bad off I really was! That night, I sat upright with ice on my knee. I found a copy of “The Little Prince” by Antoine de Saint-Exupery. I read the whole thing. It is a short story, not hard to read in 1 sitting. The little prince was a space traveler who landed on earth, and just couldn’t understand why we live the way we do here on earth. He didn’t understand our priorities at all. His fresh insights made you wonder what’s really important in life. It was a social commentary, a sweet children’s book, beautifully illustrated, and so endearing. It was just what I needed to take my mind off of my pain.

      I can honestly say that by morning, I was able to walk around on that bum knee as if nothing had happened the day before. My mother attributed it to the ice being on all night. As I became older, I realized that something different had cured me.

      My father sent me a letter, quite some time ago, about a healing experience that he had experienced as a prisoner of war. He had a raging bladder infection, and made 18 trips to the latrine one night. By chance, he was able to get a hold of a book by Paracelsus, the scientist who discovered hydrogen. What was really intriguing to my Dad was the scientist’s view of man which linked him to the universe by a common origin both chemically and psychologically. This view of reality was so healing to my Dad and gave him great joy. He felt like he had discovered the mysteries of heaven and earth. The next day his bladder infection was gone. This was truly a blessing as there were no medical supplies at this camp.

I think in both of these experiences, my Dad and I were making a joyous discovery. We were learning something new and it touched us to the core of our beings. We felt mysteries unraveling, and as a result, our bodies experienced a spontaneous healing.

Remembering these stories gives me hope and reminds me that we are never alone. If we suspend the reality we’re in, we can allow for something good to come in and heal us.

5 comments on “Healing Thoughts

  1. Imagination is king! And the voyages of the heart truly bring you to places far beyond our everyday reality. Thank you for sharing these wonderful stories of hope. Beautiful photo!

  2. What a beautiful post and photo Linda and even by reading this I could sense the healing in your words too hon. Thanks for sharing! 🙂 *big hugs*

  3. La rose du Petit Prince”! That book is a gem. I used to listen to it when I was young. We had a vinyl recording of it. Feeling connected to “All that Is” means that we become connected to ourselves and it brings healing peace and joy. Ah…the power of faith!

  4. And I’m sure you read this in French Maryse! I actually tried to do that myself, using the American version as my dictionary! hehe. Yes, connecting to all that is, I guess that’s what my Dad and I were doing. Thank you for that.

Leave a Reply

