A different kind of beauty

daisy

People have such adverse reactions to dandelions.  My neighbor goes into conniptions if we don’t get rid of our dandelions and they “infect” her yard. Imagine my surprise when someone at my art fair asked me if I had a picture of one! I don’t. Not with me. I had to hunt it down going through many Mays to find the right picture. And as I looked, I appreciated the beauty of these weeds. Their sunny bright carpeting of the wooded floor interspersed with tiny white and purple violets is really so special. It’s  nice to go to a park where no one gets rid of them. They’re not a curse. They’re allowed to be.  And the way they hold on to life and proliferate is really a metaphor and an example for us all. And frankly, even though my neighbor has such a violent reaction to them, they just make me smile!

17 comments on “A different kind of beauty

  1. There is always a reason for any existence… and you are right about dandelions … I believe it is a storage of “hidden wealth and beauty”. Have you ever wondered why the color of the flower is yellow? Thank you for stopping by … really appreciate your comments.

  2. Oh, I just love Dandelions and take photo’s of them whenever I see them. They are so gorgeous and these are beautiful Linda! I also drink Dandelion to help for my water retention now and then too. Great stuff. 😀 *hugs*

  3. It always amazes me how good they look in the wild compared to in my garden. They make awesome compost! 🙂 I have photographed it this year too. Your picture of it with the violets really showcases it well.

  4. when my son was very little he kept picking dandelions for me all the time when we were out and all his shirts were stained at the front because of the sap coming from the stems, so for me dandelions always make me smile when I look at them!!

Leave a Reply

