Magdalene

Amagdalene white windows copy leaf filled apparition

Rising out of flowers and dirt

In defiance of all around her

Waves her powerful arms

In the wind.

Staring beyond the traffic signals

back of magdaleneAnd moving cars

Touched by the spray from Buckingham fountain

As the air wings droplets onto her weatherworn body

She stares beyond the mundane travelers before her

Embraced by leaves and flowers

Worn by the city’s carbon monoxide

Impervious to its constant traffic

A tribute to the sky and air

A rememberance of the dirt

magdalene before columnsFrom which we came.

12 comments on “Magdalene

  1. Magdalene is both heavenly and ethereal as well as rooted into Earth. An Angel that overlooks and protects us down below. I love your poems!! I want to see more. They really inspire me!

  2. Linda, I clicked on the pictures to see them enlarged and then I understood how such a lovely poem was inspired. Magical! I also reread your previous one and found it just as wonderful as the first time.

    Blessings ~ Wendy

    • Thank you Wendy for your wonderful words. This statue has captured my heart, as you can tell. And I found that the artist who created it had such a hard life, it is really a tribute to her talent and her ability to inspire. My other poem came from a place deep inside. I’m so glad you like it.

Leave a Reply

