Blue Brilliance

DSC_1380fembbird

I went to look for the bluebirds

Little snatches of blue joy

Flitting over the landscape

Sparkling through fall yellows and oranges

Gathering on the tops of leafless trees

Watching us curiously.

But they are gone.

Wisely leaving the cold behind.

Letting the sun warm their blue brilliance

Very south of here.

18 comments on “Blue Brilliance

  1. I love the way this poem reads, Linda! Especially the last two lines which flow nicely. And I enjoy your use of aliteration in the title, Try saying it 5 times fast? πŸ™‚
    And of course, I enjoy your use of metaphors, describing the birds as little snatches of blue joy. Really nice!

  2. Beautiful poem! It is so cold out right now that sometimes I think the blue birds have the right idea. But then I remember how beautiful the snow is and how it feels to sit in front of a warm fire on a cold night and I realize that I am a true New England girl at heart. I guess I’d better suck it up πŸ™‚

  3. Another precious, precious picture. It stands for all of us, doesn’t it? Ah…to recognize our true brilliance and to take it where it’s warm and nurturing. Nature knows best. Lovely.

Leave a Reply

