On Hold

Well I just got waitlistedsun behind clouds
from an art fair that I
felt sure I would get into
again. I’ve done it 3 years
now. But this year, I am
on the waiting list. It’s
the first bad news of the
new year! So, of course,
it doesn’t feel good.

As I sit here and process it, I am reminded that  some of the best stuff gets written or created when someone’s feelings are raw and upended. When we are honest. Clever words are not needed.  And when an artist creates something that speaks of their soul, it is a part of the universe.

There is always a home for our expression. And it will reach the hearts that are meant to find it.  Nothing is ever really wasted if it comes from our truth.

And something newdewy hibiscusDSC_4160 is always being born.

21 comments on “On Hold

  1. I love this post! Everything you are saying is so true! Art, for me, is not so much about skill or cleverness, but expression. For something to be art for me, it should make me feel something, touch my heart in some way 🙂

    • Thank you so much Line! Feeling a little raw at the moment. But I’m trying to find the silver lining. And I always do get there. I can really feel your art. It touches me. Don’t ever stop doing it.

      • Thank you Linda! That is so sweet of you to say! I am sure you will find that beautiful silver lining very very soon! 🙂 You are very special Linda, so I am sure the universe has something very special planned for you, and it is just trying to push you in the direction of that 🙂

  2. There are no mistakes in this world. It is all Divinely orchestrated. And I am anticipating the Good behind you being waitlisted. This is God talking directly to you. Are you listening? Be glad that you are on hold. Something special is being created especially for you! I wonder what it is….

  3. I agree, no mistake. Breathe, feel everything that’s asking to be felt and then, ask yourself if you can open up to the possibility that this could be a good thing. “What do I need to know about this? What does it say about my desires? Is there a tiny step I can take towards feeling better?”, these are all questions I ask myself when things do not go as planned. I would not label this as “bad news” but as “opening news”. :):) Let us know what happens. ♥

      • I playing with the concept of letting go of labels, Linda. It’s very powerful. Why does anything have to be bad? Why can’t it be heart-opening, for example? 🙂

  4. Oh, Linda, so very true. Thank you for reminding us of this. I think one of the toughest things to do is swim in our emotions for awhile, trying to think about things and why we feel the way we do. Feelings are not right or wrong — emotions are emotions. But what are those emotions trying to tell us? So often disappointments crack us open, but as the phrase goes, that’s how the light gets in. Big hugs.

  5. Aw, Linda, sorry about your disappointment. Yet I am a firm believer that when one door closes, another shall open. And you are SO right. When are emotions are raw, that is sometimes when we do our very best work. My emotions were raw on the evening I took macro photos that I put together called The DANCE (posted today). My soul was crying, my heart numb, my feet stumbling not wanting to walk, yet in that pain, I found beauty that expressed my Truth. Not the pain. My Truth is Love and Beauty. And because of the pain, I believe what I created was even more powerful then it would have been without the pain.

    I will be the first to honestly admit I don’t have a grip on life as it seems to be taking me for the ride. Yet, I won’t be defeated, and I know you won’t be either.

    Sending you (((HUGS))) and lots of Love, Amy

    • Thank you Amy. And I loved the Dance! It is so hard to find something to photograph this winter, but you did find it, and I really enjoyed it. Now I’m inspired to find something of my own! (inside though! hehe).

      • I just looked at the temp and it is only 10 degrees outside. Too cold to being my camera out. Boo hoo. I was going to find more Treasure but not today. It is NOT easy to find anything in the dead of winter. But I did, and I will continue to do so!! Love, Amy

  6. I am so sorry to hear that Linda but I always believe everything happens for a reason but I do know how you feel. Hang in there hon. There’s something great around the corner waiting for you. 😀 *hugs*

  7. Being a writer or artist is a one-two punch half the time. There’s so much rejection and distain, or even just failing to get the point, which is sad. But in the end we create for ourselves first, and if we are doing things to satisfy our souls, then we have to block out the negative opinions of others. Not everyone is ever going to see the point or find value in our work, but if we make ourselves happy, then we win every day. You’re a winner, from my point of view, art show or no art show. Hugs, Brenda

Leave a Reply

