Peeking

juvy hummer peeking

I know that you’re watching.
So I’ll just keep peeking at you!
And I’ll stay very still
You won’t even know
That I fly
so unusually fast
Hovering between this world
And the next

Speeding across the universe
Beating my heart
across the continents.

I’m having a quiet moment
But don’t expect that to last!
Soon I’ll pass you by
Spreading my joy
In a flutter of wings
With a high whistling song.
And a nectar embrace.

19 comments on “Peeking

  1. Linda, how absoutely stunning, both your words and your photograph. (sigh) Thank you. We are in the middle of a blizzard where we live and to see signs of spring is solace to my soul. (((HUGS))) Amy

    • Thank you Amy! Our blizzard came last night and this morning. Snow is slowly melting, so I’m hoping this is the last one! Can’t wait for spring! I’ve never been so ready for it. I guess that will make me appreciate it more.

      • I am on the same page. This winter has been awful. I like you, will be SO grateful for Spring to get here. You will find me kissing the ground when I finally see grass. Perhaps I can get some really some pics. Yet, I am so weary of snow, truth be told. OK. NO more griping. SMILE (((HUGS))) Amy

  2. Oh, I looooove this poem!!!! 🙂 Actually, if I am allowed to say, I felt it was about me 🙂 🙂 🙂 Hihihihi! Thank you! That poem made me smile and feel so happy!!

    • It could certainly be about you Line! That’s too cute. I think it would be fun to be a hummingbird! I would love to be able to get around that fast! hehe. It would be wonderful! I love to hear them sing. It’s so healing and soothing. it’s like heavenly chatter. And I love hearing dolphins too, they have a wonderful happy sound.

  3. Linda, you’ve captured the other worldliness of a hummingbird perfectly. They belong with fairies and dwarfs and would surely lead us to the pot of gold at the end of a rainbow from which they seem to be made (if only we could keep up). It’s always magic when they visit my garden. They are no easy target to photograph either-bravo for you!

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

  4. Last night we had a zillion robins on our front lawn, peeking at us. And I do pray they stay in our world for a while. Happy spring indeed, whenever it decides to show up. 🙂

Leave a Reply

