Woodcock Strut

woodcockDSC_4871

This woodcock was crossing the street soooooo slowly! And doing his mating strut. He would have been run over if we hadn’t stopped. He didn’t even care as we opened the car door, so intent was he on doing his strut! My husband shooed him to the other side of the road, finally he moved a little faster. Spring is definitely coming! Signs of it all over.

Here’s a video of what he was doing.

 

 

25 comments on “Woodcock Strut

      • Yours is a golden heart, Linda. How many people would even notice a bird? (tears) Thank you. Mother has seen and you shall be rewarded. I know. I cannot explain this but I just know it is true. Now, my Bella is patiently waiting for Mom to come to sleep with her. “I’m coming, Bella.” Good night, Luv!! xx Amy

  1. How adorable and what a beautiful little bird! You’ve captured him so well! Loved the video and watched it several times. LOL! Thanks for sharing Linda. ๐Ÿ˜€

  2. Great video and photo, Linda! This was such a ‘hoot!’ I can relate to the randy actions of birds, since the creek next to my apt. building has 8 ducks over there, waking me before the dawn’s early light. I took my grandsons to check them out and feed them. There are 6 males and only 2 females… Needless to say, I know now what all the ‘quacking’ is about! I am going to post this as a quick one today! Smiles, Robin

  3. I included you in nominating you for five awards! Congratulations! If you wish to see the actual rules, you will have to check out the posts who nominated me! I included you in a short list of 11 excellent bloggers! Thanks for your lovely post and noticed that I should maybe have not talked about the ducks on my response, above. I was just adding to the Woodcock’s strut! Take care, Robin

  4. Haha!! ๐Ÿ˜€ That’s really funny – I’ve not seen one do that before, in fact I don’t think I’ve seen a Woodcock before! They take their time?! That movement goes very well with that music. Laugh of the day for me!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    • You know it’s funny the things you see when you’re least expecting them. I was really looking for an owl! But instead I got this treasure. And I’m so glad we got this little guy off the road! And that I got to see his dance. I hope he found what he was looking for! hehe.

Leave a Reply

