Spring means Migrating Birds!

flying pelicanDSC_5000loonDSC_4968

mergansersDSC_5011horned grebeDSC_5007

And here’s an awesome 2 minute video of loon calls. It gives me such comfort! I can’t explain why.

http://blog.therainforestsite.com/voices-common-loon/

 

23 comments on “Spring means Migrating Birds!

    • I like them too Line. And apparently the pelicans had never been seen at that location prior to this year, so he got photographers from Denmark photographing him the day before! Thankfully we missed all that commotion.

  1. I think it’s cool to sometimes just put on a nature soundtrack (like from one if the rain forests), while going about whatever I might be into around the house. Thanx for sharing the photos and the loon track.

  2. The loon calls are so hauntingly penetrating to my soul. I love them. I think it’s because the sounds are so primordial and my soul resonates and recognizes it. Perhaps a call to come home. And I love that photo of a pelican. It’s just so cool!

    • Thank you John. Yes there is something primordial about the loon call. And I also have a tape of dolphin calls, and that has the same effect on me. It just soothes me and brings me into another world, away from my cares and troubles.

  3. Oh my goodness, what a haunting call that is!!! Reminds of a cross between a wolf and a whale call – so musical too!! πŸ™‚ I’ve definitely never heard of that bird before and never heard the sound they make either. My Dad was a great lover of wildlife especially birds, and I’m sure he would have loved this – in fact he probably would have known all about it! Thank you for that awe-inspiring moment, I might share that on my Facebook page later this evening! πŸ˜€

    • Yes I love it too! It’s strangely soothing to me, I’m not sure why. So much nicer than the irritating call of the canada goose, maybe I just hear them too often! hehe. I would love for you to share this.

  4. Isn’t it fabulous to see the birds returning? The geese are already hissing at me when I run. I don’t even mind I am so delighted with their signal of spring. Fabulous photos of their arrival.

  5. Took a walk with a birder friend a few weekends back–stepping off an all-you-can-eat buckwheat pancake brunch at a Maple Syrup Festival–he pointed out so many interesting birds I wouldn’t have otherwise noticed. Thanks for more.

  6. Linda, this was marvelous. Loons always remind me of when my husband and I first met. He was a park attendant at a small lake just outside of our hometown. Lac Le Jeune was enhanced by the beautiful loons.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    • what a wonderful memory! My husband and I had our first date, listening to music, and our 2nd one cross country skiing. The outdoors has always been so important to us both. Glad that I could bring this memory back for you!

Leave a Reply

