Soaring Dreams

Please give my wings a liftoff!hum on palm leaf
I really want to fly.
To soar and swoop and buzz
and clutch
the very air I breeze in.
My beek, that swording eating tool
I use to help me live,
is pointing towards the heavens
where all my dreams are safe.

26 comments on “Soaring Dreams

  1. LINDA!!!!! OMG! You got him! What a glorious image!!! Oh, now you have really got me inspired to get this new lens. Oh, Luv, this is glorious!!!!! Wow! Love, Amy

      • I’m waiting on a 75-300. That is an 4/4-5.6 versus if I go a 100-200mm for $1,000 more, that has an f/2.8. I’m leaning towards the cheaper lens (75-300mm) because it is in the Canon L-series which are known for their clarity and speed. I really cannot afford $2500 of ONE lens. Seriously! Even $1500 is steep, but I got the OK from hubs. He now sees how serious I am about photography. Again, your shot out of this world, Linda. You need to be proud of you! xx Amy

      • thank you Amy! And that’s what I have a 70-300mm. 4/4-5.6, so you should do just fine! I look forward to your pictures, and if you ever have any questions, please feel free to ask, I love helping people.

      • Wow, Linda! You just confirmed my “gut feeling”. That is what I am going with then. Canon is out of stock with this lens, so the moment they are in stock, I am ordering one. I really mean it. Thank you!!! My macro is an f/2.8 but with the closeup work I do, I need that. It is one very blazing fast lens. It has to be. I do not use a tripod. (((HUGS))) Amy

  2. It’s amazing the photos you take, especially this one just really ready to take off! You are having as much fun writing and taking photos that these birds are having dipping, swirling and gliding midair!

  3. This is beautiful! πŸ™‚ Those birds must have such fun in that take off, and looking down on us all, we must seem like ants! πŸ˜‰

    I hope you don’t think me rude in mentioning this, but I was just wondering – are you having problems getting your text where you want it? Wasn’t sure if you intended your first line to be where it is or not. I used to have this theme not so long ago, and when I first started it frustrated me so much, text seemed to have a mind of it’s own! In fact I still have some similar problems on the theme I’m on now, but I found a way to manipulate the text to where I needed it to go, using full stops to move it down and then changing the full stops to white so they can’t be seen. If you want me to explain it better, just let me know and I’ll come back to let you know.

    • yes, you’re right Suzy! hehe. I did not want that line to be where it was. But then after I saw it, I decided it was ok. Because that line needed emphasis, (and because I was too lazy to change it!) hehe. I have played with it other times and gotten better results, but you’re right the computer does have a mind of its own! And it can be quite annoying, especially after you click publish! hehe. Thanks for your visit.

      • As long as you are happy with it that’s all that matters in the end. I know you like to set your poems out in different ways, and that’s really nice, makes a change to the plain straight lines of poetry I often see and also create myself. And I agree, that first line is much better with some stand alone emphasis – good thinking! πŸ™‚

  4. When I look at this, it makes me think of being ‘poised’ to fly off and become free! This is a beautiful photo and can hold so many different perspectives! You are great at this, Linda! Smiles, Robin

    • Thank you so much Robin! That’s exactly what I had in mind. But he’s not free yet, in this moment, and still clutching on to the palm leaf, so that’s the concept I did want to get across. Thank you for seeing that!

Leave a Reply

