The peace inside my heart

unconditional loveDSC_0018

I want to know a peace
That lives inside my heart
And travels to all corners
Of this earth.
Every soul will hear the words:
‘Lay down your swords
And end all wars.
The ‘enemy’ does not exist.
He’s just a man
With a family
He wants to see another day.
Feel his breathing
Feel his start
And hold him closer to your heart’

This poem is dedicated to my grandfather who chose not to bomb a city in Russia many years ago.  He said these people have families just like my family at home, and I can’t do this.  He deserted his unit and became a prisoner of war for 13 years. I really don’t know anybody today that I admire so much.  He was the most honorable and courageous man I ever knew. He wrote a beautiful poem to his son, (the  uncle I never met), who went missing in action. It expressed the pain he felt over losing his son.  I feel in my heart that war is wrong and there is always a way to resolve problems without violence. Let us all desire peace enough to make it happen.

28 comments on “The peace inside my heart

    • Thank you Sue for commenting. I know not everyone agrees with this utopia idea I have, but I have to put it out there anyway. Hopefully if I do, more people will believe it’s possible.

  1. One single self-sacrificing and Noble act of an entirely other era, has more atomic Love power inherent in it, that ripples and reaches generations far beyond, and seeps within the hearts of all those who receive it. There is power in such love.

    Na Zdorovie! Honor to people with the courage to live this way. And it doesn’t have to be on such a massive scale.

    What about the loving surrender between a bickering couple? Or harmonious words in a court battle. Or equalizing effect of kindness at a frenzied supermarket line.

    There is Love all around us and in us that harmonizes and balances the world we live. Thank Goodness for the amazing power of Love!

  2. This was a wonderful way of finishing your thoughts off about peace! What a gentle man to have inspired this tribute and so lucky to have known your grandfather and proud of his decision not to bomb people with families and homes. Great post today, Linda!

      • What caught my attention upon re-reading this, is how you feel you don’t know of anyone today that you admire as much. I am so glad you felt this close to your grandfather. It is a lovely way you honor him, in this story of not wishing to bomb people and also, how sad that he lost your uncle, his son. It would be so hard to outlive your children. I hope you had a wonderful Father’s Day, Linda. You were blessed with a kind, good and true hero of a grandfather!

  3. What a beautiful tribute! And I completely agree – you had a courageous grandfather! I’m sure a lot of men all those years ago would not have thought like he did or dared to tell anyone if they had. There must have been so much pressure on those innocent men to march of to war and do as they were instructed. I can’t imagine what that must have been like! And to become a prisoner purely because you won’t agree to kill other innocent people – it’s quite a sickening thought. I read a quote in a book about the second world war where a Lord (can’t recall his name right now!) had described the whole terrible war years as a cull. I was surprised that anyone would dare use such language back then! I think that describes war perfectly, and maybe if more understood that was how it was viewed by people in influential positions, perhaps the worlds view of what war is would change quite quickly. War is a fools game, and obviously your grandfather was a thinking man – well done to him making the right decision, if everyone did that there would be no war! 🙂

  4. I applaud your grandfather. Once a soldier myself, I realized that the “enemy” were told by their rulers that they were the “good guys” and we “the bad” and vice versa. I’ll take peace anyday… and never be bored with it. Peace.

Leave a Reply

