Mysterious Gift

feather in fenceDSC_0110I came upon a feather
Gently swaying with the wind
Breezing each and every flow
Wispy polka dotted beauty
Captured my wonder
and blessed my unbelief.
A mysteriously abundant
unexpected gift
Was my wondrous find today.

31 comments on “Mysterious Gift

  1. I’m sure feathers represent various things but I found one meaning that it reflects one’s spiritual ascension or evolution. May this lift you to new heights! πŸ™‚

  2. I’m not sure why, but I’m picturing those lines being spoken by a very sleepy person lying in a hammock on a hot day, going over that lovely moment of their day, before they have a little nap. There’s just something very dream like about this poem, really beautiful Linda! πŸ™‚

    You reminded me, I saw a feather floating passed me the other day, but not as pretty as your one here. Just a pure white little fairy like one! It’s good to write about these tiny moments, we might just forget them otherwise, and what a pity that would be?!

    • I love your sleepy person idea Suzy! It would be so nice to have peaceful thoughts like this before drifting off to sleep. I have insomnia, so that doesn’t happen very often. Perhaps I will try thinking of my lovely mysterious gift, and just drift off into sleepland! Thanks for the lovely suggestion.

  3. I keep unusual feathers, after I have left them in the sun for awhile. I have a porcelain square jar with a blue and white Asian pattern on it. I have a couple of cardinal feathers, one blue jay, a few sparrows and am not sure what my speckled one is. I put my large turkey feather into my cornucopia arrangement. I actually took a photograph of 2 turkeys that were in my friend, Bill’s yard, after they left I kept the feather. I guess I wished to share my interest in feathers, loved your photo, which was lovely! I liked your words and their pictures they evoked, too. Smiles, Robin

    • thank you Robin for sharing about all of your feathers. I’m so glad you understand my wonder at this beautiful gift. How wonderful that you have collected so many feathers. You are surrounded by beauty!

      • Yes, if helps that my name is a bird, which brought many people in my family’s attention on this. Bringing me blessings and beauty, throughout my many encounters with birds and ones who watch, photograph and enjoy them… like you do! smiles, robin

  4. What a wondrous find indeed Linda and such a beauty. Stunning shot and such a beautiful poem. I just love it! πŸ˜€ β™₯ Hugs β™₯

  5. Linda, I love the ‘unexpected gifts’ in each day. Your lovely poem reminds me to give thanks for each and every one of them. Birds and butterflies are some of my favorite gifts in the garden.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

Leave a Reply

